2 Апреля 2020


Back in February, it seemed that the COVID-19 epidemic would remain a local outbreak in China and would not spiral out of control. However, in March, the spread of the infection reached such a scale that epidemiologists began to talk about a global threat.

The World Health Organization confirmed these concerns by announcing the COVID-19 pandemic.

COVID-19 has already affected dozens of countries, among them partners of the Financial University.

Financial University communicates remotely with its foreign students and partners. We hope that the COVID-19 epidemic will decline in the near future. We look forward to the date and will be able to continue mutual cooperation and student exchange with our international partners.

1. China

The epicenter of the coronavirus infection was the Chinese city of Wuhan, located in the Hubei Province. In this  city, the first cases of pneumonia were recorded, which were later classified as COVID-19.

Local authorities claimed that the COVID-19 epidemic has declined in China, but the scale of the epidemic in the rest of the world still remains extremely dangerous.

China has introduced the longest quarantine in history in order to prevent the spread of the virus. The country has closed 16 large cities since the end of January.

During the peak, 20 Chinese provinces and regions were closed.

Wuhan was closed January 23, almost 6 weeks the streets of the city were empty.

Soon after the closure of Wuhan, China closed other 16 cities.

According to the WHO, China’s measures have helped to prevent new infections caused by the virus.

2. USA

The United States has the highest number of officially confirmed cases of COVID-19 in the world. 163.539 thousand people have already been infected. About one-third of COVID-19 tests in the state of New York were positive, raising the national average by eight percent. Experts estimate that one person dies every 17 minutes from COVID-19 in New York.

In New York, the US army and National Guard are providing logistical and administrative support to state and local governments to contain the spread of the coronavirus and help fellow New Yorkers. 

The police are instructed to arrest people who congregate in large groups in parks, the metro, and other public areas.

During the quarantine, residents have experienced a lack of certain household necessities such as toilet paper and paper towels Grocery stores have attempted to meet the increased demand for food delivery to people's houses.

Exceptional quarantine measures are being taken to minimize the spread of infection.

3. Italy

Quarantine throughout Italy was introduced March 10. It affected all aspects of life for 60 million citizens, including retail trade, entertainment, religious events, and travelling.

Almost 11.5 thousand people died from COVID-19, 97.689 were infected.

During the quarantine people are instructed to stay at home and go outside only if it is absolutely essential. Travelling is allowed only with special permission from the police. All establishments except pharmacies and grocery stores are closed.

Mortgage payments have been officially postponed. Medical workers had to postpone their vacations.

4. Spain

Spain has become the second European country to quarantine the whole country.

The Spanish authorities imposed a high-readiness order, restricting the movement of people for 15 days. This period may be extended with the consent of the Parliament if  necessary. People are allowed to go outside only to purchase products, medications, basic necessities, and go to work. Most of the companies asked their employees to work from home.

The country has closed bars, restaurants, museums, theaters, sports and cultural centers, other entertainment establishments, schools, universities, shops with the only exception being food stores and basic necessities.

5. Germany

Shops, churches, sports institutions, bars and clubs are closed in 16 regions of the country.

Chancellor Angela Merkel stated that these measures are crucial to combating the spread of the virus. She also noted that there was a need for citizens to limit their number of social contacts and, consequently, reduce the risk of infection for each resident in the country.

6. France

President Emmanuel Macron announced a two-week quarantine. Residents are not allowed to leave without a strong necessity, for instance, unless urgent assistance to relatives is required. If a citizen provides an invalid reason, they will be fined anywhere from 38 to 135 euros. Mobile checkpoints have been set up at the entrance to each city and on highways throughout the country. 

7. Uzbekistan

March 16 to April 15, 2020, a state of emergency was introduced in the country. At the border of several regions of Kazakhstan, 24/7 sanitary posts were placed around a number of large settlements.

There are restrictions on entering and exiting the country. Quarantine and other restrictive measures have been introduced in all regions. Live entertainment, sports and other mass events are prohibited. Shopping malls,theaters and other public places have been closed.